Congregational Vote: July 23

During worship services on July 23, all Ministry Partners will be asked to affirm the Elder Nominating Committee’s recommendation to move Dan Finegan from Inactive Ruling Elder to Active Elder status.

Dan and his family have been attending Lake Forest for almost 10 years and have served in various roles throughout that time. Most recently, they served for two years as missionaries through the EPC World Outreach in Northern India. They returned this past summer where Dan has resumed his practice as an attorney in Charlotte. He is the embarrassingly proud husband to his wife, Stefanie, and father to their four daughters, Abbie, Ellie, Amelia and Michaela.

We are a tribe led by Elders

Our Ruling Elders oversee the spiritual and physical welfare of Lake Forest Church, including vision-casting, shepherding of pastors and staff and praying for members of the body.

Ruling Elders are nominated and confirmed by LFC Ministry Partners after examination by the Elder Nominating Committee (ENC), which convenes yearly to elect new members. Elders can be male or female and must be active Lake Forest Church Ministry Partners who demonstrate admirable leadership and character qualifications.

Ruling Elders serve a three-year term before rotating to an “Inactive Elder” designation, though they continue to play a vital role in the health of LFC.

Elder Qualifications

  • Active male or female LFC Ministry Partner for no less than two years.
  • Demonstrates ministry leadership and commitment to LFC.
  • Character qualifications outlined in scripture.
  • Agreement with all components of the Evangelical Presbyterian Church’s “Essentials” and general assent with the Westminister Confession. Click here to access these documents.

Essential Activities

  • Provide strategic-level leadership for the operation and ministry of Lake Forest Church.
  • Pray for the Pastoral/Director Staff and the congregation.
  • Stewardship of Staff – active participation in well-being and development of staff.
  • Serve as a role model to the congregation through servant-leadership and actively shepherd the members of the church.
  • Serve the congregation in duties specifically set aside for Elders, including oversight of all administrative activities.
  • Participate in regular meetings of Session and weekly leadership team meetings.

Biblical Qualifications

I Timothy 3:1-13 and Titus 1:5-9 outline the Biblical qualifications of an Elder. Noteworthy attributes include being temperate, respectable and able to teach. Elders should also be wise leaders of their families, in control of their finances, mature in their faith (versus a recent convert, and exemplify sound doctrine and high ethics in all dealings.

Active Elders

Adam Dutka

Bill Hammill

Chad Lacy

Darrell Lipe

Drew Richards

Teresa Sharp

Jaye Soss

Holly Worsley

Daryl Poppen

Carey Gordon

Denise Tornberg

Inactive Elders

Rusty Andrews

Jim Barger

Steve Brumm

John Campbell

Jack Cathey

Sam Frowine

Matt Gallagher

Dave Gregory

Dave Grimes

Algie Grubbs

Corinne Kologe

Bill Worsley

Lance Lawrence

Daniel Finegan

T.J. Haycox

Teaching Elders/Pastors

Mike Moses

Mitch White

Michael Flake

Dr. Bud Brainerd

Aron Gibson

Elder Emeritus

Allen Roes

Join our mailing list for e-updates and/or weekly sermon discussion questions!